People of Play Crowns 13th Annual TAGIE Awards Winners • The Toy Book

Source: People of Play/The Toy Book

People of Play (formerly known as the Chicago Toy & Game Group) revealed the winners of the 13th annual Toy & Game International Excellence Awards (TAGIES) during a 90-minute virtual ceremony presented by Spin Master last Friday evening.

Spin Master Co-Founder Anton Rabie presented Erno Rubik, the inventor of Rubik’s Cube, with a Lifetime Achievement Award. Spin Master recently acquired Rubik’s Brand in a $50 million deal. Additionally, inventors Norman and Arlene Fabricant received a Celebration of Life and Achievement Award, and game designer Alan Roach was honored with the Hassenfeld Humanitarian Award — accepted by his family — in honor of The Roachy Fund, a scholarship established to help others follow their dream of making art and playing games.

The 2020 TAGIE Award winners can be seen below.

Toy Inventor of the Year – sponsored by Radio Flyer

  • David Yakos for Circuit Explorer Rocket, Circuit Explorer Rover, and Circuit Explorer Deluxe Base Station (Educational Insights)

Game Inventor of the Year – sponsored by Oxford Games

  • Peggy Brown for My First Rush Hour (ThinkFun); and Bye, Felicia and Who’s the G.O.A.T. (Big G Creative)

Rising Star Inventor of the Year

  • Aron Lazarus for The Genius Star and Bee Genius (The Happy Puzzle Co.)

Young Inventor of the Year (Under 18 years old)

  • Maayan Segal for Queeng Playing Cards

Art and Design Visuals of the Year

  • Marjorie Spitalnik for Marie Curie, Mary Jackson, Amelia Earhart and Malala Yousafzai Plushies by Little Rebels (Dac Toys)

Innovative PR and Marketing Team of the Year

  • LEGO Star Wars Team for LEGO Star Wars Episode 9 Campaign

Most Innovative Retailer of the Year

Most Innovative Supplier of the Year

This year’s awards were sponsored by Hasbro, The Michael Kohner Corporation, PlayMonster, Cartamundi, and Nexttoy.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *